India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

ICC Champions Trophy 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed
Mini World Cup in India   Discuss ICC Champions Trophy Read Related

Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe, Jaipur

Match 5, ZIM vs BAN: Bangladesh consolation win

Shahriar Nafees made 123 for Bangladesh as they completed a 101-run win over Zimbabwe in the Champions Trophy.
Earlier, Zimbabwe captain Prosper Utseya won the toss and elected to field first. Nafees remained on 123, only the second Bangladesh batsman to score two ODI centuries and the second to carry his bat in an ODI innings - a feat Javed Omar achieved twice without scoring a hundred.
Neither team was able to qualify for the main tournament after both were beaten by Sri Lanka and West Indies. Bangladesh : S Nafees, R Saleh, A Ahmed, S Hasan, H Bashar (Captain), F Reza, K Mashud (Wicket Keeper), M Rafique, M Mortaza, A Razzak, M Hossain jnr
Zimbabwe : B Taylor (Wicket Keeper), C Chibhabha, H Masakadza, G Strydom, E Chigumbura, G Brent, S Matsikenyeri, P Utseya (Captain), A Ireland, T Kamungozi, E Rainsford
ICC Champions Trophy qualifying round, Jaipur: Bangladesh 231-6 (50 ovs) bt Zimbabwe 130 (44.4 ovs) by 101 runs

Bangladesh to play for pride

Bangladesh will have more to prove than Zimbabwe when the two teams clash in an inconsequential Champions Trophy qualifying match today.
Both the sides are out of the reckoning following two defeats each in as many matches, against Sri Lanka and the West Indies who have clinched the two spots available in the Super Eight stage. Zimbabwe were handed a nine-wicket thrashing after being bundled out for 85 by title holders West Indies and then Sri Lanka pasted them to register a 144-run victory. Nothing more could have been expected of a team that has been stripped of its Test status and comprises a bunch of raw youngsters whose average age is 21. Bangladesh, on the other hand, have consistently flattered to deceive. They started the tournament with a reasonable performance against the Lankans in the first tie at Mohali where they held themselves while chasing a tall target of 304.
But the batting crumbled when asked to set a target against the West Indies, crashing to their 113th loss in 135 matches. Captain Habibul Bashar, who has failed to score a run and has lasted only three balls at the crease from the two innings he has played so far, said it was a "bad game" and did not expect it to be repeated again. Bashar would also remember the recent one-day series loss to Zimbabwe. Bangladesh (from): Habibul Bashar (Captain), Shahriar Nafees, Khaled Mashud, Mohammad Rafique, Mohammad Ashraful, Mashrafe Mortaza, Rajin Saleh, Abdur Razzak, Aftab Ahmed, Syed Rasel, Shahadat Hossain, Farhad Reza, Saqibul Hasan, Mehrab Hossain.
Zimbabwe (from): Prosper Utseya (Captain), Gary Brent, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Anthony Ireland, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Tafadzwa Mufambisi, Tawanda Mupariwa, Ed Rainsford, Piet Rinke, Gregory Strydom, Brendan Taylor.

Habibul Bashar wants to go back home with win

Bangladesh captain Habibul Bashar desperately wants to end his Champions Trophy campaign on a winning note with his team's final qualifying match against Zimbabwe on Friday.
"We need to win this game and get our pride back," Bashar said. Bashar is yet to score a run in Champions Trophy qualifying, in which Bangladesh has lost to Sri Lanka and the defending champion West Indies so far. "We came here in this tournament to do a lot better and we want to win at least one game," Bashar said. Both Bangladesh and Zimbabwe are out of contention for the main round of the biennial limited-overs tournament, while the West Indies and Sri Lanka have already earned their berths.
Bangladesh' top-order batting lineup failed to chase a strong Sri Lankan total of 302 in the first match and lost the game by 37 runs, before Brian Lara's West Indies hammered it by 10 wickets on Wednesday. The West Indies outclassed Zimbabwe by nine wickets and Sri Lanka crushed it by 144 runs in its two qualifying matches. But the African team will have some confidence heading into Friday's match after beating Bangladesh 3-2 at home in a five-match limited-overs series earlier this year. "We need to be on top when we play Bangladesh tomorrow," said Zimbabwe coach Kevin Curran "We beat them 3-2 recently, we have that advantage."

Champions Trophy Qulaifying round: Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe , Jaipur


Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe by 101 runs
Zimbabwe won the toss and decided to field
231 for 6 (50.0 overs)
130 all out (44.4 overs)

Bangladesh Innings
Rajin Saleh lbw b E C Rainsford
18 1 0
Shahriar Nafees not out
161 17 1
Aftab Ahmed c B R M Taylor b A J Ireland
10 0 0
Saqibul Hasan c E C Rainsford b T Kamungozi
52 3 0
Habibul Bashar
b E C Rainsford
40 4 0
Farhad Reza c P Utseya b A J Ireland
4 0 0
Mashrafe Mortaza c E Chigumbura b G B Brent
5 0 0
Mohammad Rafique not out
11 0 0
1nb 8w 8lb 17
for 6 231 (50.0 ovs)

E C Rainsford 10.0 3 41 2
A J Ireland 9.0 1 45 2
G B Brent 7.0 0 28 1
E Chigumbura 5.0 0 21 0
P Utseya 9.0 1 50 0
T Kamungozi 10.0 0 38 1
Fall of wicket
9 Rajin Saleh
26 Aftab Ahmed
109 Saqibul Hasan
189 Habibul Bashar
196 Farhad Reza
210 Mashrafe Mortaza

Zimbabwe Innings
C J Chibhabha lbw b Mashrafe Mortaza
25 2 0
B R M Taylor st Khaled Mashud b Saqibul Hasan
74 7 0
H Masakadza run out
8 0 0
G M Strydom
b Mohammad Rafique
22 0 0
S Matsikenyeri run out
18 1 0
E Chigumbura c and b Saqibul Hasan
53 0 0
G B Brent c Habibul Bashar b Saqibul Hasan
38 0 0
P Utseya
b Abdur Razzak
13 0 0
A J Ireland
b Mohammad Rafique
11 0 0
E C Rainsford not out
4 0 0
T Kamungozi
b Abdur Razzak
2 0 0
1b 3lb 4
all out 130 (44.4 ovs)

Mashrafe Mortaza 7.0 2 16 1
Farhad Reza 6.0 0 34 0
Abdur Razzak 6.4 2 12 2
Mohammad Rafique 10.0 1 26 2
Saqibul Hasan 10.0 1 18 3
Mehrab Hossain jnr 3.0 0 12 0
Rajin Saleh 2.0 0 8 0
Fall of wicket
26 C J Chibhabha
35 H Masakadza
61 G M Strydom
78 S Matsikenyeri
88 B R M Taylor
123 E Chigumbura
123 G B Brent
127 A J Ireland
130 P Utseya
130 T Kamungozi

Umpires: S A Bucknor, D J Harper

Champions Trophy Qulaifying round: Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe , Jaipur


Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

The Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur is the most refurbished of the four venues with floodlights now installed. The ground will host six matches, including Englands pre-Ashes tie against Australia on October 21.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.