NKP Salve Challenger Trophy 2006-07

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Preamble on the Spirit of Cricket

"Cricket is a game that owes much of its unique appeal to the fact that it should be played not only within its Laws but also within the Spirit of the Game. Any action which is seen to abuse this Spirit causes injury to the game itself."

NKP Salve Challenger one-day cricket tournament 2006-07

NPK Salve Challenger Trophy 2006-07 News

India Blue, India Red declared joint winners

India Blue and India Red were declared joint winners of the NKP Salve Trophy after rain played spoilsport in the summit clash of the Challenger cricket series here on Wednesday evening.
India Seniors were 210 for four in 31.2 overs with Virender Sehwag going strong on 90, and Mahendra Singh Dhoni on 6 when play was stopped at 5.12 pm after a downpour. Sehwag blasted 14 boundaries and a six in his knock. It rained heavily for an hour and then stopped. The umpires made one inspection and preferred to have another one before deciding on the fate of the match.
VRV Singh was declared man of the series. Each team gets Rs 3.75 lakh as prize money. India seniors have claimed the trophy on six occasions, while India-A had won four times including sharing it with India-B in 1998-99, when the tournament was known as NPK Salve Challenger Trophy.

India Red beat India Green by 39 runs and reach the final

A solid start by openers Robin Uthappa and Gautham Gambhir put India Red in the drivers seat as they piled up 317/4 in their second and last round robin match in the Challenger Series cricket tournament here on Tuesday evening.
India Greens need to achieve a win within 40 overs against the Reds, to gain a bonus point and make it to the final in case of a possible three way tie. India Blues, having won their match on Monday against India Greens, are assured of a berth.
NPK Salve Challenger Trophy 2006 : India Red 317 for 4 beat India Green 278 all out by 39 runs

India Blue thrash India Green by 266 runs

India Blue rode on a batting masterclass by Sachin Tendulkar Sachin Tendulkar's Site to thrash the Greens by a massive 268 runs and assure themselves of a place in the final of the Challenger Trophy.
The story of the day was Tendulkar. Tendulkar set the Blues up for a massive total, blazing his way to a 100-ball 139, while Irfan Pathan, Rahul Dravid and Mahendra Singh Dhoni all chipped in with half-centuries in quick time. Chasing an improbable 382, the Greens were never in the hunt and crumbled to a measly 113 in less than 27 overs, in the process handing India Blue victory with the all-important bonus point. The Blues got 236 runs in boundaries alone (35 fours and 16 sixes), far more than the opposition managed in all.
NPK Salve Challenger Trophy 2006 : India Blue 381 for 6 beat India Green 115 all out by 266 runs

Gautam Gambhirs ton revives India red

Fringe players Gautam Gambhir (110) and V. Venugopal Rao (67) asserted themselves well as India Red piled up 280 all out in the allotted 50 overs against India Blues in their first round-robin tie in the Challengers Series cricket tournament for the NKP Salve Trophy here at the MA Chidambaram Stadium this evening.
Excepting the lone centurion Gambhir and Rao, the other Indian Red players did not stay long enough on a pitch that was not offering much help to both the seamers and spinners. While Gambhir and Rao added 145 runs between them, eight other batsmen could muster only 135 runs (including 12 extras), while for the Blues Irfan Pathan came good claiming 3/55 in his quota of ten overs in two spells and Munaf Patel took three for 49. Ajit Agarkar, more impressive maintaining a good line and length, had 2/57.
NPK Salve Challenger Trophy 2006 : India Red 280 all out beat India Blue 259 all out by 21 runs

Ganguly, Laxman selected for Challenger Trophy

Ganguly and V.V.S. Laxman were yesterday named in the India B team for the Challenger Trophy limited overs cricket tournament to be held in Chennai from October 1 to 4.
Paceman Zaheer Khan, who has been out of the national team since the tour of Pakistan, has been selected in the India A squad announced by BCCI Secretary Niranjan Shah after a meeting of the national selection committee. Two other India pacemen, Ashish Nehra and Laxmipathy Balaji, also returned to domestic cricket by being selected in the India B squad. However, leg-spinner Anil Kumble, who has been left out of the Champions Trophy, does not figure in either of the three teams. Tanmay Srivastavs consistent show for the India under-19 squad this year has earned him his spurs for rubbing shoulders with the stars of Indian cricket, according to More. While Rahul Dravid will lead the India Seniors, Venugopala Rao will skipper India A and Mohammad Kaif will captain India B. The Teams for Challenger Trophy: India Seniors: Rahul Dravid (Captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar Sachin Tendulkar's Site, Yuvraj Singh, Dinesh Mongia, Wasim Jaffer, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Wicket Keeper), Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Munaf Patel, Rudra Pratap Singh and Ravindra Jadeja.
India A: Venugopal Rao (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Subramaniam Badrinath, Rohit Sharma, Tejinder Pal Singh, Dinesh Kaarthick (Wicket Keeper), Vikram Rajvir Singh, Shantakumaran Sreesanth, Ramesh Powar, Zaheer Khan, Murali Kartik and C Raghu.
India B: Mohd Kaif (Captain), Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman, Hemang Badani, Suresh Raina, Tanmay Srivastav, Piyush Chawla, Parthiv Patel (Wicket Keeper), Sourasish Lahiri, Ashish Nehra, Laxmipathy Balaji, Praveen Kumar and Reetinder Singh Sodhi.

Ganguly, Kumble likely for Challenger trophy

Sourav Ganguly , Anil Kumble and VVS Laxman are expected to be named in one of the three squads to be selected in Mumbai on Tuesday for the N K P Salve Challenger Trophy limited overs tournament.
The trio was among the 30-strong probables' list announced for the ICC Champions Trophy on August 9 but failed to make the final 14-member list. The probables list contains all the 15 members of the national squad led by Rahul Dravid which failed to reach the final of the DLF Cup in Malaysia plus Zaheer Khan, Venugupal Rao, Robin Uthappa, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Kartik and Piyush Chawla. Players out of action for long due to injury -- Ashish Nehra, Laxmipathy Balaji and Murali Kartik -- should also make it to the list of 36 players (each team comprising 12 each), along with three others, as per indications
It will be the outgoing national selection committee's last job before it's reconstituted in the BCCI AGM, scheduled in Mumbai on September 27 and 28. Selection panel chief Kiran More and co-selector V B Chandrasekhar are expected to give way to Dilip Vengsarkar and Venkatapathy Raju in the next panel.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.