India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Cricket on Pay Per View India Cricket Live

ICC Champions Trophy 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed
Mini World Cup in India   Discuss ICC Champions Trophy Read Related

Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, Ahmedabad

Match 3, SRI vs ZIM: Sri Lanka through to the next round

Sri Lanka beat Zimbabwe by 144 runs and made it to the group stage of Champions Trophy. Chasing 286 to win, Zimbabwe were bowled out for 141 runs in 42.3 overs. Zimbabwe is yet to win a match in the five editions.
Upul Tharanga who hit his second century in two matches, was adjudged Man of the Match. He scored 110 and was involved in a 168-run partnership with Kumar Sangakkara, who hit his 34th one-day fifty.
Sri Lanka Team M Jayawardene (Captain), M Atapattu, M Bandara, T Dilshan, D Fernando, S Jayasuriya, C Kapugedera, F Maharoof, S Malinga, M Muralitharan, P Perera, K Sangakkara (Wicket Keeper), U Tharanga, C Vaas
Zimbabwe Team T Duffin, T Mufambisi, C Chibhabha, E Chigumbura, S Matsikenyeri, P Rinke, B Taylor (Wicket Keeper), G Strydom, H Masakadza, P Utseya (Captain), A Ireland,T Mupariwa, T Kamungozi, E Rainsford

Sri Lanka aim to raise tempo against Zimbabwe

Sri Lanka coach Tom Moody will raise Zimbabwe to the same league as Australia and India when they clash in Tuesday's Champions Trophy qualifier.
"Quite clearly we'll be approaching this game just like any other - whether it's Zimbabwe, England, Australia or India, it makes no difference," said Moody. The Sri Lankans, considered one of the favourites to win the 10-nation tournament, began their campaign with an emphatic 37-run win over Bangladesh in Mohali on Saturday. Lowly Zimbabwe were thrashed by nine wickets by Brian Lara's West Indies here on Sunday, the match ending towards the close of the first session even before the lights were switched on in the day-night game.
Sri Lanka will qualify for the main tournament with their second win on Tuesday and the West Indies will join them if they defeat Bangladesh in Jaipur on Wednesday. Moody, a two-time World Cup champion as a player with Australia in 1987 and 1999, said his team will not take victory for granted against cricket's whipping boys. "My emphasis to the players will be that we're going in to win this match, the opposition is irrelevant," he said.
"Whether Zimbabwe have world class players in their side or not is not relevant. What is more important is that we have a game to play with the intensity we have with any match." "If anyone thinks they can come into a match like this with a foot off the gas and not quite switched on they can be in for a rude shock." Moody rubbished suggestions Sri Lanka would prefer to bat on winning the toss to gain useful practice rather than field and bring about a quick end to the match - like the West Indies did with Zimbabwe. Sri Lanka Team : Jayawardene (Captain), Marvan Atapattu, Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakarra, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedara, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Ruchira Perera, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga, Muttiah Muralitharan, Malinga Bandara.
Zimbabwe Team : Prosper Utseya (Captain), Stuart Matsikenyeri, Hamilton Masakadza, Elton Chigumbura, Terrence Duffin, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Brendan Taylor, Harry Rinke, Gregory Strydom,Tawanda Mupariwa, Edward Rainsford, Anthony Ireland, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Tafadzwa Mufambisi.

Champions Trophy Qualifying Round : Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, Ahmedabad


Sri Lanka beat Zimbabwe by 144 runs
Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat
285 for 7 (50.0 overs)
141 all out (42.3 overs)

Sri Lanka Innings
W U Tharanga
b S Matsikenyeri
130 13 1
S T Jayasuriya run out
15 0 0
D P M D Jayawardene c B R M Taylor b A J Ireland
10 0 0
K C Sangakkara c S Matsikenyeri b C J Chibhabha
86 7 0
M S Atapattu not out
30 2 0
T M Dilshan c T Kamungozi b P Utseya
6 0 0
M F Maharoof lbw b T Kamungozi
18 1 0
M Muralitharan c S Matsikenyeri b T Kamungozi
6 2 0
S L Malinga not out
5 0 0
6nb 6w 3b 15
for 7 285 (50.0 ovs)

A J Ireland 10.0 0 53 1
T Mupariwa 6.0 0 31 0
E Chigumbura 4.0 0 24 0
H P Rinke 3.0 0 21 0
C J Chibhabha 5.0 1 25 1
P Utseya 10.0 0 58 1
T Kamungozi 10.0 0 55 2
S Matsikenyeri 2.0 0 15 1
Fall of wicket
38 S T Jayasuriya
49 D P M D Jayawardene
214 W U Tharanga
219 K C Sangakkara
235 T M Dilshan
259 M F Maharoof
273 M Muralitharan

Zimbabwe Innings
T V Mufambisi c D P M D Jayawardene b S L Malinga
9 1 0
H P Rinke
b P D R L Perera
3 0 0
C J Chibhabha c T M Dilshan b S L Malinga
12 0 0
H Masakadza c K C Sangakkara b M F Maharoof
56 5 0
B R M Taylor
b C R D Fernando
40 4 0
S Matsikenyeri c S T Jayasuriya b C R D Fernando
11 0 0
E Chigumbura run out
2 0 0
P Utseya c D P M D Jayawardene b M Muralitharan
45 3 0
T Mupariwa
b S L Malinga
67 2 0
A J Ireland c K C Sangakkara b M Muralitharan
8 0 0
T Kamungozi not out
10 0 0
8nb 18w 1lb 27
all out 141 (42.3 ovs)

S L Malinga 9.3 0 25 3
P D R L Perera 6.0 1 27 1
C R D Fernando 9.0 1 28 2
M F Maharoof 4.0 0 37 1
M Muralitharan 10.0 2 20 2
S T Jayasuriya 4.0 2 3 0
Fall of wicket
7 H P Rinke
7 T V Mufambisi
23 C J Chibhabha
86 B R M Taylor
86 H Masakadza
89 E Chigumbura
107 S Matsikenyeri
126 P Utseya
134 A J Ireland
141 T Mupariwa

Umpires: Aleem Dar, Asad Rauf

Champions Trophy Qualifying Round : Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, Ahmedabad


Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad

The Sardar Patel (Gujarat) Stadium in Motera is another impressive stadium in terms of facilities for the players. The ground will host two preliminaries and three second round matches. India will meet a qualifier on October 26.

ICC Champions Trophy Cricket (Mini World Cup) 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed


Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.